Triangle

Before we watched the movie Triangle in class, I watched the trailer and I guess because of that, I missed some of the movie experience. I knew beforehand due to me watching the trailer that the anonymous killer in the ship was Jess herself.
Nevertheless, the movie was still a great one in my opinion. It left me with so many questions about certain aspects of the movie like how do the bodies of people in the movie theatre not pile up like the ones in the upper deck wherein there were about 20 piled up bodies. I also asked myself what the movie alludes to or if it even alludes to anything.
Leading up to the ending, I formulate theories in my head about what’s happening and why and as the movie progresses, my theories either get debunked or reaffirmed. I like that about movies. I like to think about what’s happening and not just relying on the movie spoon feeding it to me.
I like the fact that even after leaving the ship, Jess was still stuck in the cycle. The events in the first part of the movie were in fact also events in the latter parts like when Jess was comforting her son, telling him that it’s all just a dream. There were many aspects of the movie that were amazing even the little details such as the pile of pendants or the pile of crumpled paper which signifies that the events in the movie have happened before with a different Jess.
The ending was the epitome of it all. It took my attention the most because I wondered why Jess went back to the boat and seem to forget what just happened to her. That was the biggest question for me because even if I contemplate the ending, I never seem to find a sound reason for it all. The best theory I came up with is that Jess forgot about everything when she was asleep in the boat and maybe thought it was just a dream, which is pretty unlikely to happen because if I were in Jess’ shoes, I wouldn’t forget all the horrible things that had happened to me. Another theory I came up with is that Jess probably realized that she cannot escape the cycle that she’s in so she probably just went on with it, pretending not to know what would happen next and just spend time with her friends and her son, which is also pretty unlikely since it would be absurd to willingly go back to the psychological torment Jess went through.
As a movie, Triangle was great but as a horror film, I didn’t think it was a successful one. This may be because I wasn’t fully immersed in Jess’ experience. I treated the events that were happening as external to myself. The movie didn’t provide the means for the audience to be fully immersed in its horror aspects. This may also be because this was my first time to experience a horror film not about ghosts or zombies or other cliche supernatural creatures. Then again who am I to say if the movie was a great horror film or not? I’m just stating my opinion.

Leave a comment