TRIANGLE

triangle5

114772

Minutes after the movie has started, Jess has already sensed that there is something wrong with their trip. As a viewer, I also came to a conclusion that she might be an important element in the movie. More so, since their trip is in a sea, I thought that they were going to encounter violent natural disasters and that would be the movie about. Yes the boat did go through a horrifying storm that actually came out of nowhere but that wasn’t the main event of the movie. Based from the title, Triangle, as well, I thought that the movie would perhaps reveal more horrific events that came out of nowhere since maybe they are in the Bermuda triangle, hence the title.

When the big ship arrived, I thought that the movie will be about ghost encounters inside the ship, I thought to myself: Man, I’m never going to guess what this is about. All this guessing is leading me to different points, sort of like a triangle.” But then the real story reveals itself and guesss what. The movie should have been named “the Circle.”

I, for one, was not able to understand the movie fully. Why are there recurring events? Why is Jess trapped in some kind of time limbo? And does it ever stop? I felt really confused as to how events are turning in the movie and that’s a big part of why I was scared of the movie. I have no clue what is going to happen next. I am not a big fan of movies and I always assumed that horror movies are all about ghosts or gore killings. But when I saw the movie Triangle, I know this movie presented more than ghosts and killings to show itself as a horror movie. I love the twist.

906-M-Triangle

The lighting of the ship was also dark which somehow reflects sinister vibes inside the boat. It was funny though that inside a dark ship is a frame of the story of Sisyphus. Before I learn to analyze movies as such, I used to just go with the flow and never even bother about the details. But this one is just so random that as if it was poorly inserted in the movie just to give a clue about the movie. But the fact that the myth of Sisyphus (the myth that there is this guy who carries a rock all the way to the top of the hill only to watch it roll back down) reveals a similar nature as to the recurring events of the movie. While reading the frame they said that Sisyphus cheated his death. In the movie, it is likely that Jess might have cheated her death too and as a consequence, her life keeps on repeating.

But my question is that why is it that when events are recurring, she comes off as another person. How come it does not happen like a déjà vu where she’s supposed to be familiar with the events since she already experienced it. That way, maybe she could help. Why does she have an impostor? And most importantly, who is the real one?

Leave a comment